Stages of Liver Cancer

The stage of a cancer diagnosis is the most important factor in determining a treatment plan. Though there are many staging systems used for liver cancer worldwide, one of the most common ones is the Barcelona Clinic Liver Cancer (BCLC) Staging System. The system bases staging on whether the cancer has spread, function of the liver, general health of the patient and exhibited liver cancer symptoms.

The BCLC staging system is made up of five stages:

  • Stage 0: Very early
  • Stage A: Early
  • Stage B: Intermediate
  • Stage C: Advanced
  • Stage D: End-stage

If a patient is diagnosed with stages 0, A or B, treatment often seeks to cure the disease whereas patients diagnosed at stage C or D typically receive palliative care. For more information on liver cancer staging, visit the National Cancer Institute.

This is not intended as medical advice to replace the expertise and judgment of your health care team. It is intended to help you and your family make informed decisions, together with your doctor.